Upcoming Live Webinars

Webinar: Detection and Quantification of Carbon Content in LiFePO4 Cathodes using TGA-MS

by NETZSCH Analyzing & Testing

DATE: June 22, 2022
TIME: 10 - 11 AM AEST / 08 - 09 PM EDT / 08 - 09 AM CST (Session 1)
05 - 06 PM AEST / 09 - 10 AM CEST (Session 2)

Since the late 1990’s Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4) has attracted significant attention as a candidate lithium-ion battery material. Lithium-ion batteries using LiFePO4 (LFP) offer a high theoretical capacity, long lifespan, good charge/discharge performance, safe handling, and low toxicity.

In order to improve the electrochemical performance, it is typical to apply a carbon coating to the surface of the electrode material. Carbon black powders are also commonly added into cathode materials during manufacturing and modification to improve performance. Thus, the cathode mixture may comprise different types of carbon (e.g. coated carbon, doped carbon black). The different carbon contents influence the results of the modification and therefore determination of carbon content is critical for product development and optimization purposes.

Typically, thermogravimetry (TGA) alone can separate the abovementioned carbon types. However, the oxidation (mass increase) of the ferrous ions during combustion makes it impossible to deconvolute the mass losses coming from the carbonaceous species. In this webinar, we demonstrate the ability of thermogravimetric analysis coupled to a mass spectrometer (TGA-MS) to distinguish and quantify the different carbon types in LFP battery cathode materials.

Presenter:
Andrew Gillen
BE (Materials), ANZ Product Manager
NETZSCH Analyzing & Testing (NETZSCH Australia Pty Ltd)

Register Here >>>

Webinar: Pharma 4.0 and The Process Guardian: How Tornado’s Process Guardian can help you be part of Pharma 4.0 era

by TORNADO Spectral Systems

DATE: June 28, 2022
TIME: Tue, Jun 28, 2022, 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM ICT

Pharma 4.0 is the advancement of manufacturing that uses Internet-of-Things technology and Industry 4.0 applications to ensure total process monitoring and quality assurance. The history of the Pharma 4.0 movement as well as the key concepts of Automation, Quality Predictive Control, and Vertical and Horizontal Integration will be explored in this presentation. Also, the Tornado Spectral Systems Process Guardian will be spotlighted, and this presentation will discuss how this Raman analyzer fits within the Pharma 4.0 paradigm.

Presenter:
Shamus Driver
Senior Raman Innovation Scientist
TORNADO Spectral Systems

Register Here >>>









Previous Webinars
TOP